Playing journalism? A fresher’s opinion about media

        “My aim is to put down on paper what I see and what I feel in the best and simplest way.” (Ernest Hemmingway)…and fulfilling it leads to a successful career in journalism, and to lots of money in the end, I would add. Now seriously speaking, journalism isn’t about money or earning fame, but doing what a person wanting to embrace this magnificent area of work has ever dreamed of before actually making its dream come true by coming to the university. The main purpose of a journalist is, after all, making people aware of the things that are already happening in front of them, by reporting the events ON TIME and in an objective and realistic manner. He is neither an inventor, nor a writer, but an observer ready to be at the right place at the right time, a person brave enough to face any posing danger just for the sake of information and knowledge.

      Coming to this university means to me the best way to reach my expectations related to this field and also the beginning of a long journey throughout questions, answers, ethical and moral issues and ways to solve them out. The purpose of the Journalism courses is to ensure and help us gain the necessary qualities and knowledge so that we can become the best in what we do. More than that, apart from learning the essential skills of Journalism, we should be able to enter this endless competition (with ourselves and also with the others) by gaining more trust in ourselves and raising our standards to the highest point we can reach and even higher.

        Throughout the years, we should discover how to learn from the best and take something from everyone’s talent, without even making ourselves guilty for plagiarism. Furthermore, as future journalists we should become aware of our responsibilities and learn a very important thing, that people who work in media have the power to manipulate the masses, to change others’ opinions and beliefs and so they become a model to everyone. In this way, they sometimes have to change aspects of their personal life and build an image that is not for themselves, but for the others (the target).

          I truly hope that the forthcoming years at the university will be years of intensive learning and gaining experience. I am therefore ready to learn this fascinating world of media in more depth and discover every piece of detail and aspect related to it. I am aware of the fact that I must be permanently active and curios, but this is just the way I am. I am going to work hard and fight for showing people who I am and what I can do. I discovered wonderful people at the university so far and it is my duty to repay their attitude by listening to them and learning from what they have to say. By doing that, I am positive that all my efforts wouldn’t be in vain.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

